Did you know?

May 25, 2016


Although every Guyanese would have, at some point, used any combination of the one, five and ten dollar coins, very few persons could actually name the artists responsible for each design.


The artworks on the face of the coins were designed in 1994 by three students from the E.R. Burrowes School of Art. Sean Thomas designed the artwork on the one dollar coin; Selwyn Cambridge the five dollar coin; and Ignatius Adams the ten dollar coin.


 The three coins were issued by the Bank of Guyana and put into circulation on May 26, 1996.

This article was first published in the 50th Independence Anniversary supplement of the Guyana Chronicle on May 25, 2016. Click on the link to be redirected to the E-paper:



Please reload

Check out my shop!
Recent Posts

February 10, 2018

December 31, 2017

Please reload

Please reload

Search by tags
Please reload

Follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle